SFGov, the official site for San Francisco space
San Francisco header image

Human Services Agency of San Francisco
Department of Aging & Adult Services * Department of Human Services

print Print this page | Text size: small - large

HSA is a department of the City and County of San Francisco, and the central resource for public assistance in the city. Our mission is to promote well-being and self-sufficiency among individuals, families and communities in San Francisco. HSA has approximately 1,800 employees and maintains contracts with many community-based nonprofit agencies to provide crucial services to San Franciscans in need.

We provide a safety net for individuals and families by offering income support, community-based living supports, and assistance getting food, housing, and health coverage. We offer programs and services that ensure the protection and safety of children, the elderly, and dependent adults. We help people secure employment through training, job search and child care assistance.

HSA was formed in 2004 with the merger of two previously existing city departments, the Department of Human Services and the Department of Aging and Adult Services.

Department of Human Services

The Department of Human Services (DHS) is comprised of the following main divisions:

Department of Aging and Adult Services

The Department of Aging and Adult Services (DAAS) is the federally mandated local Area Agency on Aging, and also provides many other programs that serve and protect elderly residents and younger adults with disabilities.

The department coordinates an integrated, comprehensive range of social, mental health and long-term care services that foster independence and self-reliance. DAAS protects the rights and assets of the deceased and those who are no longer able to care or advocate for themselves. DAAS's programs include:



‹‹ back to About Us